The Network is the Computer!

by

Sun Microsystems has always been saying this, and coming time can only prove the vision behind the statement. I realised today that I have started storing documents online, using Google’s excellent spreadsheets and documents. YouTube provides a platform for video content, and the many online radio stations provide music. Increasingly, I find it important (and easy) to synchronize my notebook with the desktop, and i don’t view the computer as a closed entity cut off from the rest of the world.

The other day, I had a power cut at my place, and I couldn’t think of a single thing to do on my laptop. I couldn’t access any online documentation for project work, no google reader for entertaining articles (although we can read these articles offline using Google Gears), no Orkut, no online gaming…

And this is just me, a simple average user of a single workstation.

Leave a Reply

