Console Junkie: HowTo use rtorrent, Part I

by

Installation.

A couple of days back, I mentioned that my absolute favorite torrent client is Deluge, because it is less of a resource-hog than Azureus. However, recently I’ve become a console junkie, giving up the pleasures of GUI for the far more interesting CLI.

rtorrent is a ncurses based torrent client, that is reputed to be the lightest and fastest client in town. Here is the output of the top command on my comp:

vedang@ninjakombda:~$ top | grep rtorrent
8965 vedang 0 3.3 0:54.82 rtorrent
8965 vedang 0 3.3 0:54.83 rtorrent
8965 vedang 0 3.3 0:54.84 rtorrent
8965 vedang 0 3.3 0:54.85 rtorrent
8965 vedang 0 3.2 0:54.86 rtorrent
8965 vedang 0 3.2 0:54.87 rtorrent
8965 vedang 1 3.2 0:54.89 rtorrent
8965 vedang 0 3.2 0:54.90 rtorrent
8965 vedang 0 3.2 0:54.91 rtorrent
(pid)(user)(%CPU)(%MEM)(TIME+)(COMMAND)

Blogger killed my top output, so I’ve had to format it a bit. My apologies. I don’t know much HTML.

As you can see, it uses less than 1% of my CPU, and only 3.3% of memory. Not to mention that it doesn’t have a hundred dependencies. Also, it is really, really powerful!

So how do we begin installing this? Simple. Download the stable release of libtorrent and rtorrent from http://libtorrent.rakshasa.no/ (at the time of writing this is libtorrent-0.11.7 and rtorrent-0.7.7) and extract the contents into your favorite directory (I’ve done this in my home directory). Now, run the following commands:

cd libtorrent-0.11.7
./configure
make
sudo make install
cd ..
cd rtorrent-0.7.7
./configure
make
sudo make install

Done! Next post we’ll see how to actually use rtorrent, and make it a torrent-handling beast.

Tags:

One Response to “Console Junkie: HowTo use rtorrent, Part I”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Hey Vedang,

    I have rtorrent up and running on my ARM-powered NSLU2. It sucks about 2% per instance from the humble little processor, and best of all, only 30% of its mighty 32MB of RAM.

    So thank you for your advice – my rc file was by and large acceptable, but it was informative to read someone else’s journey with rtorrent.

    I have not experimented with the way it resolves already-downloaded torrents to act as a seed; we shall see.

    Peter

Leave a Reply

