Wammu – Phone manager for Linux

by
On windows, MyPhoneExplorer is a great phone manager esp. for Sony Ericsson’s phones. I wanted to use it in Linux so I tried using it through wine using this guide ( actually a direct install also works now.) However, although the phone connected I could not sync any data. The app kept crashing. So I decided to find something native and found Wammu. ( Google sent me to AlternativeTo — interesting site).

Wammu seems to have all the features of MyPhoneExplorer and is quite good. I especially liked the phone connect guide. The UI needs a bit of tweaking , but overall it seems to be quite a cool app. I had blogged about Multisync earlier and I think Wammu is better.

Ubuntu users can click here to install it. Its also available for Windows. You can find screens here. The list of supported phone is available here.

Leave a Reply

